Awadh Bihari Chaudhary From Tejashwi Yadav’s Party Elected Bihar Speaker


Awadh Bihari Chaudhary From Tejashwi Yadav's Party Elected Bihar Speaker

Veteran RJD leader Awadh Bihari Chaudhary has been elected Speaker of Bihar Assembly.


Veteran RJD leader Awadh Bihari Chaudhary was today unanimously elected as Speaker of the Bihar Legislative Assembly.

The post had fallen vacant upon resignation of Vijay Kumar Sinha, against whom a no confidence motion was moved by the ‘Mahagathbandhan‘, after it came to power in the state earlier this month.

Mr Chaudhary was escorted to the Chair by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Mr Sinha, a senior BJP leader, who has now become the Leader of the Opposition.

The proceedings were, however, marked by BJP members protesting “dropping” from the list of businesses a report of the Ethics Committee.

The report was on the conduct of several MLAs of the RJD, which was then in the opposition, in March last year when Mr Sinha was held hostage inside the Speaker’s chamber for several hours.

The BJP members had entered the House carrying placards and raising slogans to press for the demand for tabling of the report, and entered the well when Deputy Speaker Maheshwar Hazari took the Chair.

However, as Mr Hazari ordered commencement of the Speaker’s election, the BJP members relented and took their seats.

The issue of the Ethics Committee report was raised by Mr Sinha, in his congratulatory speech, while the Speaker asked him to keep it focused on the agenda of the day.

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav were among those who spoke on the floor of the House to congratulate Mr Chaudhary, a several-term MLA from Siwan.

A special session of the House is underway in which the ‘Mahagathbandhan’ (Grand Alliance) had proven its majority on the floor two days ago.

The seven-party coalition assumed power after Mr Kumar, with his JD(U), quit the NDA over alleged attempts by BJP to “break” the regional party.

He joined the ‘Mahagathbandhan’, which is helmed by the RJD and includes Congress, CPIML(L), CPI(M) and CPI.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *